Books of the Week

I have ended this week with an overwhelming sense that I am too old: too old for human interaction, too old for the world we live in, too old for the never-ending hype. At the ripe *old* age of 39, I find myself increasingly baffled by the goings on around me. Everyday closer to 40 is a step deeper into the embodiment of a curmudgeon. Cases in point:

Too old for human interaction:

While standing in a very long line at Disneyland, I was desperately (and unsuccessfully) trying to encourage the whining children towards patience and endurance. I explained that learning to wait in long lines was simply a part of being at Disneyland (a statement they did not take kindly to). An overly eager stranger then chimed in, “Welcome to the happiest place on earth.” I genuinely laughed, appreciating his humor. UNTIL he said, “Oh wait, we should say, ‘Long lines at Disney.’ hashtag happiestplaceonearth.” HOLD ON, WHAT?! This dude just used the word “hashtag” in a conversation. He changed a perfectly fine sentence into a tweet, out loud and on purpose. Ummm, no. I am way too old to have a conversation of this nature.

Too old for the world we live in:

The other day the teenage boys across the street were staring at their car in, what appeared to be, great distress. In a completely appropriate, unstalkery way, I watched to see what their frustration was about. The car had a flat tire. These two teenage boys stood there unable to figure out what to do next. They stared, they bent down, they tried to unscrew lug nuts with their hands, they stared, they looked under the car, they scratched their heads. They did all manner of irrelevant things. And I realized I live in a world where teenage boys have no idea how to change a flat tire. Ummm, no. I am way too old for this.

Too old for the never-ending hype:

One of my daughters went to the orthodontist this week to get braces. This is an extremely common place event for later elementary school age children living in the United States. And yet, it is necessary to “hype” even this. Now, before you think me cold-hearted, I do understand that the adults are trying to help the kids not feel so self conscious and embarrassed by the metal in their mouths. As a former braces wearer, I appreciate the gesture. However, when I see my daughter’s name on a huge sign that says, “You wear your new braces #likeaboss.” {groan} I begin to question where it has all gone wrong. Now we use “like a boss” to encourage our young children. I am way too old for this.

In the midst of all this absurdity, I have had some redeeming interactions…with books. This week, my children and I have come across a few “new to us” books that have been thoroughly enjoyable and genuinely interesting. I am never too old for this!

Picture Books of the Week:

1. The Night Gardener by the Fan Brothers – Not unlike the night gardener himself, this book brings a little joy and beauty to a weary world. The illustrations are fantastic and the story is kind and hopeful.

2. Tap the Magic Tree by Christie Matheson – When a group of 3 and 4 year old boys brought this book to me to read, I was skeptical. But from the first page to the last, they were hooked. They participated, enthralled by their magical abilities to create the next page.

3. Memoirs of a Goldfish by Devin Scillian – This book follows the tale of a lonely and bored goldfish who finds himself increasingly accompanied and mediating dramas galore. It is a funny and very entertaining read.

4. Go, Little Green Truck! by Ron Schotter – Ever wondered what happens to the beloved farm vehicles once a new, bigger, stronger vehicle comes along? This is the charming tale of one such vehicle. Look out for the “easter egg” paying homage to one of childrens’ literature’s most beloved farm girls.

5. Thunder Rose by Jerdine Nolen – Thunder Rose is a super hero story for all little girls (and boys) to be inspired by. The amazing illustrations of Kadir Nelson bring this story to life remarkably.

Chapter Book of the Week:

Wolf Hollow by Lauren Wolk – Wolf Hollow follows 12 year old Annabelle as she navigates farm and school life during wartime, being the victim of bullying, and seeing the best in a person written off by everyone else. It is beautifully written.

May your family find these as enjoyable as we did.

4 thoughts on “Books of the Week

  1. I totally get the too old for all of your above reasons!!! Well said!! : ) I’m so glad you found a few good books that helped. Grandma Lacey’s advice to all of life’s stresses was a good book and a comfortable chair!!

    Like

  2. This post reminds me of a quote from Samuel Davies I have posted on my office “library” at work:
    “The venerable dead are waiting in my library to entertain me and relieve me from the nonsense of surviving mortals.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

