Immigration: Fiction Books to Read

I realize there are precious few words left to say about immigration to the United States of America. Don’t worry, this is not a political treatise.

As is usually the case, I have found myself referring back to books that resonated with me on this issue. Over the last several years, many excellent books have been written featuring immigration as one of the main characters. These books serve to either give us solace in the realization that we are not alone in our experience or they give us access to a perspective we may not have considered, much less experienced. While I would not go as far as to say that you can “walk a mile in someone else’s shoes” simply by reading a story, I will say that the understanding gained through seeing the world through another person’s story is invaluable.

These are stories of fiction, but that does not dampen their impact. May you enjoy them as much as I have.

Leave a Reply

