Summer Reading List: The Early Grades

Oh my goodness, I am done. Just. Done. I know that humans don’t hibernate, but we should and it should be for the month of May. Please, someone save me from my calendar. Why have I personified my calendar, you ask? Because it is alive and it hates me. Hates. Me.

I am not exaggerating when I say that every part of me wants to curl up into a ball on my corner of the couch, put on noise cancelling headphones, and read. Then read more. And cap it all off with, well yes, reading even more. I find myself struggling not to shut down due to a system overload. Now I have completed the cycle by making my calendar alive and myself the machine. See, I am done.

It should come as no surprise to you then that this list has been a struggle for me. There are so many excellent and exciting books coming out for the older kids which made last week’s post easy to write. The next post after this one will be about summer reading ideas for preschoolers and it kind of writes itself. But this one, this one is just sitting in my mind like a weight. Its getting the middle child treatment right now. That misplaced, looked over, lost in the shuffle treatment.

Here’s the thing. In the early elementary school grades, it is really just about helping kids discover their own love of reading. Which often means, they are going to be reading some stuff you definitely would not have picked off the shelf (I’m looking at you, Rainbow Fairies). That is a good thing. They are discovering their own literary interests. At this stage, whatever they are interested in reading, put in their hands (and then try not to cringe).

You may remember that a few months back I did a post about the best beginner chapter books. The books in that list are excellent for readers just starting out on the chapter book adventure. But if you have a reader who is starting to find those books a bit too easy. This list includes some books that would be good for the next level.

Sticking with the “one book for each week of summer” model, here are 11 “next level” chapter books for the early grades.

  1. Nate the Great (Marjorie Weinman Sharmat)
  2. Hank the Cowdog (John R. Erickson)
  3. The Littles (John Peterson)
  4. Mercy Watson (Kate DiCamillo)
  5. A to Z Mysteries (Ron Roy)
  6. Clementine (Sarah Pennypacker)
  7. Keena Ford (Melissa Thomson)
  8. Magic Animal Friends (Daisy Meadows)
  9. The Mouse and The Motorcycle (Beverly Cleary)
  10. Big Nate (Lincoln Peirce)
  11. Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls (Elena Favalli and Francesca Cavallo)

My advice to you is: get them as many of these books as you can find and then follow the old adage, “read while the child is reading.” You are right, that is not how that saying goes. But we can all agree that is how it should go.

Happy imaginary hibernation!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

